Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of these sources (and hundreds more) are indexed in the Biography and Genealogy Master Index
(see Web Resources
listing). Many biographical research works are shelved in the CT section of Simpson Library's reference collection. They include:
American National Biography
Call Number: REFB CT 213 .A68 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Includes some 18,000 scholarly essays on deceased individuals who have influenced American history and culture.
The Biography Book
Call Number: REFB CT 104 .B87 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A one-volume work that identifies and assesses biographies of "more than 500 of the most fascinating individuals of all time." Each entry includes a brief biographical paragraph.
Call Number: REFB CT 100 .C8
Since 1940 this popular reference set has striven to provide "objective, accurate, and well-documented biographical articles about living leaders in all fields of human accomplishment."
Dictionary of World Biography
Call Number: REFB CT 104 .D54 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Each volume is devoted to a historical era, and biographical essays are divided into the sections Early Life, Life's Work, Summary, and Bibliography.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Call Number: REFB CT 103 .E56 1998
Publication Date: 1997
An excellent multi-volume reference set that provides biographical information on some 7,000 individuals whose "reputations stand the test of time."
Notable American Women, 1607-1950
Call Number: REFB CT3260 .N57
Publication Date: 1971
Covers the lives of "exceptional women" throughout U.S. history.
Research Guide to European Historical Biography
Call Number: REFB CT 759 .R47
Publication Date: 1993
This set, like its American companion series, above, furnishes well-written overviews on major biographies of historical figures.
St. James Guide to Biography
Call Number: REFB CT 101 .S24 1991
Publication Date: 1991
As the introduction points out, the editors do not supply biographical data on the persons included in the book, "but rather bibliographical and critical analysis of biographies already available."
Using Reference Books
Use Reference books to:
♦ Obtain background material to help familiarize yourself with your topic
♦ Place your topic in historical context
♦ Locate definitions of terms and concepts
♦ Find bibliographies suggesting additional resources on your topic
While writing research papers, you may need to:
♦ List your sources in bibliographies or works cited
♦ Provide either footnotes or endnotes.
For more help with citations, check this guide out.