Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Temporary access in response to COVID-19 ends 6/30/2022
New
Searchable books, pamphlets and speeches covering the lives of African Americans during the early Jim Crow period.
New
Searchable books, pamphlets and speeches covering the struggle of African Americans for equality during Reconstruction.
New
HeinOnline’s Civil Rights database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Contains hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.
Trial
Temporary access in response to COVID-19 ends 6/30/2022
New
Part of the HeinOnline Social Justice Suite. This collection includes periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more.
New
This comprehensive collection of primary source documents enables in-depth study of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century.
New
Contains publications of The Justice Initiative including reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
Trial
Temporary access in response to COVID-19 ends 6/30/2022
New
An African American video oral history collection that includes fully searchable transcripts of interviews with African American leaders across a broad range of disciplines and subject areas. These testimonies illuminate the stories of African American men and women living in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries who have made important contributions to America and the world. Most films on the HistoryMakers platform have closed captioning and transcripts.
Trial
Temporary access in response to COVID-19 ends 6/30/2022
Loading...
Loading...

Loading...
title
Loading...