Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

Art & Art History: Databases & Articles

A research guide to finding books, articles, and other resources in Art and Art History

Using Databases

The UMW Libraries subscribe to more than 200 databases.

In these databases, you'll find...

  • magazines
  • newspapers
  • scholarly journals
  • books
  • videos
  • and other valuable information sources

Most of our databases, but not all, are included in Quest.

Art and Art History Databases

Other Useful Databases

Magazines vs. Journals

Magazines are periodicals that are generally popular in nature, unlike journals, which are usually more scholarly and specialized.  Here are some differences between the two:

  Appearance

Magazine: Glossy; pictures often in color.
Journal: More serious look; few pictures, if any.

♦  Content

Magazine: Current events; general interest. 
Journal: More specialized; research topics.

♦  Audience

Magazine: General public.
Journal: Scholars and researchers in a particular field.

♦  Style

Magazine: Written for the average reader.
Journal: Written for others in the field; shows research.

♦  Foot / Endnotes and Bibliographies

Magazine: Few notes, if any.  No bibliographies.
Journal: Includes notes and sometimes bibliographies.

♦  Advertisements

Magazine: Many ads, often in color. 
Journal: Few or no ads.  If any, they are usually for books.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Peter Catlin

Finding special types of articles

Book reviews
Book reviews tell you about relevant books, and help you decide whether you should read those books. To find them, search in Quest. On the search results page, under "Refine My Results," click on "Resource Type," then click on "Reviews."

For more information about finding book reviews, see the Book Reviews guide:

 

Exhibition reviews
To find reviews of art exhibitions, search in Quest, and add the words "exhibition" and "review" to your search. For example, to find reviews of exhibitions of Impressionist art, search for impressionism exhibition review.

Having trouble accessing a database?