Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome! This guide is designed to help you research topics in Anthropology. To find books, articles, websites, and other relevant resources, click on the tabs above.
If you have any questions or need help researching a topic, use the links in the box on the right to chat with a UMW librarian, email us your question, or set up a research consultation over Zoom. We look forward to working with you!
Quick Database Links
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals (American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, and Ethos) and Anthropology News.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Index of articles in the collection of the Anthropology Library of the British Museum.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text content back to the 18th century. Includes scholarly journals from a wide range of disciplines, including anthropology.
All issues, from volume 1, issue 1, are provided for every journal, including all previous and related titles. Each journal has a “moving wall,” defined as a time lag between the most current issue published and the content available on JSTOR. Most archival journals have moving walls of between three and five years, but publishers may elect walls anywhere from zero to 10 years.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals from a number of subjects in the socials sciences, including anthropology.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
This is the new platform for LexisNexis Academic. Use it to find newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, company profiles, court cases.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for more than 860 sociology journals dating back to 1908.
Meet your Librarian
, Children's Literature
, Political Science and International Affairs
, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies