Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases for Scholarly Articles
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals).
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles in Economics, including full text for nearly 600 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, Journal of Economic Perspectives, and the four American Economic Journal titles).
Full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains almost every issue of many publications, starting with Volume 1, Issue 1, and extending all the way to the Moving Wall.
The Moving Wall delay is set by a journal’s publisher and ranges from 0 to 10 years, although the majority of journals in the JSTOR archive have a Moving Wall delay of 3 to 5 years. In rare instances, a publisher has elected to have a "zero" moving wall, so their current issues are available in JSTOR shortly after publication. JSTOR's explanation of how the Moving Wall embargo works
This means that a search in JSTOR will likely not find very recent articles. For the most current political science and international affairs articles, use Political Science Complete.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences, including major scholarly political science and international affairs journals.
Quest - The Main Library Search
Quest is a powerful way to search Simpson Library’s collection of books, DVDs, and rare materials, as well as the thousands of streaming videos, hundreds of thousands of ebooks, and millions of scholarly journal articles that are part of our electronic subscriptions.
Recommended Databases for International News
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva includes a wide variety of national and international news publications.
To search publications from a specific country, follow these steps:
1. From the Search menu (located at the top of the page), select Search Builder.
2. Below the main search box, click the arrow next to Source to open the menu options.
3. Using the Select Source Category pull-down menu, select "By Region" instead of "All Sources."
4. Select the region, then the sub-region of your country. Click the name or your selected country to add it to your search.
5. Enter your search terms in the main search box to search only publications from that country.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes a wide variety of national and international news publications.
To use Nexis Uni to search a specific publication, follow these steps:
1. Using the Guided Search options, located below the main search box, select "A publication: in the left-most section.
2. Under Find a Publication, search for the name of the newspaper you wish to search. Select the title when it appears in the list. Nexis Uni contains many but not all major international newspapers.
3. In the box under "Search for something specific?" enter your search terms. Then click Search.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers. Many of the newspapers are U.S. publications, but NSP also includes:
- Newspapers from other countries: Irish Times (Ireland), The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, and more
- Television and radio news transcripts: ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation), CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), CNN International, and more.
Simpson Library Journal Search
Know the name of a newspaper, scholarly journal, or other periodical and curious which database(s) cover it?
Search here using the title of the newspaper / magazine / journal.
Europa World Year Book
Call Number: Simpson Reference JN 1 .E85 2021 (3 volumes)
Publication Date: 2021
This 3 volume set contains a wealth of information, arranged by country, on the history, politics and economy (including international trade) of each nation. Entries also include websites for various government agencies.
Europa also includes summaries of international organizations (like the WTO)
The Statesman's Year-Book
Call Number: Simpson Reference JA 51. S7
Publication Date: Annual - Most recent 5 years in Reference
Like Europa World Yearbook, this book provides summaries of the economic, social, and political state of each country.
At the end of each entry are lists of recommended further reading and URLs for the country's statistical bureau.
Political Handbook of the World
Call Number: Simpson Reference JF 37 .P6
Publication Date: 1975-present
Analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup, including extensive coverage of all major and minor political parties and groups in each political system. Also provides names of key ambassadors and international memberships of each country, plus detailed profiles of more than 30 intergovernmental organizations and UN agencies.
CIA World Factbook
Europa World Year Book and Statesman's Yearbook contain much more detailed information, but CIA World Factbook is freely available online.
Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Human Development Reports (United Nations)
Global reports, national reports, and special topic human development perspectives
Statistical Yearbook (United Nations)
Comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels.
Prepared by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, of the United Nations Secretariat.
*Also available in print in the Reference section of Simpson Library: Simpson Reference: HA 12.5 .U63
World Development Indicators searchable database - World Bank Group
The World Development Indicators is a compilation of relevant, high-quality, and internationally comparable statistics about global development and the fight against poverty. The database contains 1,400 time series indicators for 217 economies and more than 40 country groups, with data for many indicators going back more than 50 years.
World Trade Organization (WTO) - Documents and Resources
Official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos.
You can also find the “legal texts” — the body of WTO agreements that collectively form the legal framework of the WTO.
WTO Trade Profiles
Key indicators on trade in goods and services for over 190 economies, highlighting each economy's major exports / imports and main trading partners
WTO Trade Policy Reviews
These include reports from the WTO Secretariat and policy statements from the countries' governments.
International Centre for Trade and Sustainable Development (ICTSD)
Version of this page archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine on June 25, 2022
While the ICTSD closed as of 30 November 2018, it still hosts many useful reports.
ICTSD Bridges News
This is a version of the website archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine on March, 13, 2022
News through November 30, 2018
Can be searched by date, tag, or keyword
Developed out of concern about the growth of bilateral trade and investment deals outside of the World Trade Organization (WTO) and a feeling that these less visible agreements were "under the radar" of many social justice activists.
A kind of collaborative clearinghouse on the internet where people could find and post their own information and analysis about bilateral free trade agreements (FTAs) and investment treaties being negotiated and signed across the globe, and who is doing what about them.
International Monetary Fund Publications
IMF publications, including the World Economic Outlook Report, regional economic reports, and working papers
Also includes information on commodity prices, global housing, and more
International Monetary Fund Country Index
Find news, economic data, country reports, and other IMF documents related to the country / region
Observatory of Economic Complexity (OEC)
An online data visualization and distribution platform focused on the geography and dynamics of economic activities. The OEC integrates and distributes data from a variety of sources to empower analysts in the private sector, public sector, and academia.
Many features are free, although some require a paid subscription.
Meet your Librarian
, Children's Literature
, Political Science and International Affairs
, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies