Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson Library | Special Collections

FSEM 100H3: Holocaust in German and American Culture: Home

Meet your librarian

Advice for Online Students

There may be times when you cannot come to the library during this semester, but the library is still here to help you!  If you need a section a library book scanned and emailed to you, complete the digitization request form.  Check here for more information on accessing library resources. 

Beginning Your Research

For your research paper, you will be researching some aspect of the representation of the Holocaust in German and American culture.  You can select a memoir, or a work of fiction.  You may prefer to examine a short story, poem, or film.  Or, you may be interested in exploring a memorial in art, including memorial sculptures and museums.  

These resources can help you identify the resource you want to reseach:

ARTSTOR -- a collection of over 2 million high-resolution images from leading museums around the world.  You will need to create an ARTSTOR account if you want to download images.

Ethnic News Watch -- accesses contemporary sources representing minority and non-mainstream groups and points of view.  

Gale Literature -- a rich resource for literary research, including biographical information and literary criticism.

Films on Demand -- includes over 30,000 doumentary films, feature films, and newsreels, available for streaming.

Oxford Music Online -- Premier resource for information on music and musicians. 

Theatre Performance and Design Collection --Includes access to Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection, The Broadway HD Collection, National Theatre Collection, Performance Design Archive, The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection, Theatre in Context Collection, and Theatre in Video.

Next Steps

Quest Logo
Search articles, books, and more...

 

Once you know the Holocaust representation you will be researching, you will need to learn what you can about it.  Some key questions to ask are:

  • Who created the work?  This could be an individual artist or writer, or it could be a government body that decided to erect a memorial of some sort.  Use the library's reference works to find out more.
  • Why was it created?  
  • How was it received?  Newspapers from the time the memorial was created can give you insight into popular opinion.  
  • What have scholars and critics said about the work?  Use the Quest search box above to dig into the scholarly literature.  Quest searches across many of the library's 200+ databases.

 

Other Library Guides