Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Student Employment: Student Positions

This is guide for students who are interested in working at Simpson Library.

Student Positions

Access Services

Students who work in Access Services generally work between the hours of 8am and midnight each semester.  Weekend shifts are included.  Students work an average of 10 hours each week.  This is a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week. 

Access Services Assistants perform the following duties:

  • Assist patrons at the Circulation Desk
  • Check books in and out
  • Assist patrons with reserve materials
  • Assist patrons with computers and equipment
  • Shelve books & periodicals
  • Maintain library statistics
  • Answer questions and give information
  • Inventory
  • Special Projects

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Customer service skills
  • Good organizational and communication skills
  • Patient, friendly, and able to multi-task
  • Dependability
  • Must have at least 2.0 GPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Christie Glancy

Collection Services

Students who work in Collection Services generally work between the hours of 8am and 5pm Monday through Friday. Students work 10 hours each week. This is not a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week.

Collection Services Assistants perform the following duties:

  • Stamping and sorting of physical materials   
  • Shelving materials in the Current Periodicals, Microfilm, and Microfiche areas of the library
  • Pulling materials from the shelf to be bound or withdrawn from the collection
  • Preparing lists of withdrawn government documents
  • Other duties as assigned

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Attention to detail
  • Good organization skills
  • Ability to follow direction with little to no supervision
  • Must have at least a 2.0 CGPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Summer Durrant

Digital Archiving Lab

Students who work in the Digital Archiving Lab generally work between the hours of 8am and 5pm Monday through Friday. Students work 10 hours each week. This is not a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week.

Digital Archiving Lab Assistants perform the following duties:

  • Digitize archival materials in various formats
  • Create descriptive metadata for digital objects and collections
  • Edit and convert digital files with Adobe Creative Suite software
  • Create online and touchscreen exhibits
  • Assist other students and staff with digitization projects
  • Special projects

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Good organizational and communication skills
  • Attention to detail
  • Dependability
  • Must have at least 2.0 GPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Suzanne Huffman

Library Systems

Students who work in Library Systems generally work between the hours of 8am and 5pm Monday through Friday. Students work 10 hours each week. Preference will be given to computer science majors, students with programming experience, and students with an interest in working in libraries after graduation.  Freshmen are encouraged to apply. This is not a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week.

Library Systems Assistants perform the following duties:

  • Troubleshooting technology problems
  • Creating library website content
  • Supervising the ThinkLab several evenings a week
  • Conducting research on behalf of Systems and other library staff
  • Updating computers
  • 3D printing projects
  • Programming projects depending on student ability and interest

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Ability to work with minimum supervision
  • Creativity
  • Basic computer skills
  • Minimum 2.00 CGPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Katherine Perdue

Reference

Students who work in Reference generally work between the hours of 8am and 6pm plus one 9pm-midnight shift each week.  Students work an average of 10 hours each week.  This is a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week. 

Reference student assistants perform the following duties:

  • Assist patrons with research questions at the Reference Desk
  • Shelve reference materials
  • Maintain library statistics
  • Special Projects

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Customer service skills
  • Good organizational and communication skills
  • Patient, friendly, and able to multi-task
  • Dependability
  • Must have at least 2.0 GPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Erin Wysong

Special Collections and University Archives

Students who work in Special Collections and University Archives generally work between the hours of 8:00am and 5pm Monday through Friday. Students work an average of 10 hours each week.  This is a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week. 

Special Collections and University Archives student assistants perform the following duties:

  • Assist with reference questions and assisting patrons
  • Retrieve and shelve unique archival and rare materials
  • Assist with exhibit display creation, research and set-up/take-down
  • Label and move collections to acid-free enclosures as specified
  • Process archival collections and create finding aids
  • Special Projects

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Good organizational and communication skills
  • Attention to detail
  • Dependability
  • Must have at least 2.0 GPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Carolyn Parsons

Technical Services

Students who work in Technical Services generally work between the hours of 8am and 5pm Monday through Friday. Students work 10 hours each week. This is not a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week.

Technical Services Assistants perform the following duties:

  • Stamping and sorting of physical materials   
  • Shelving materials in all areas of the library
  • Retrieving materials for patron requests
  • Pulling materials from the shelf to be analyzed or withdrawn from the collection
  • Preparing lists of withdrawn materials
  • Inventory projects
  • Other duties as assigned

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Attention to detail
  • Good organization skills
  • Ability to follow direction with little to no supervision
  • Must have at least a 2.0 CGPA

Student Assistant Supervisor: Shannon Hauser

3D Print Assistant

Students who work in the ThinkLab generally work between the hours of 8am and 10pm each semester.  Weekend shifts are included.  Students work an average of 10 hours each week.  This is a public service position.

Students generally have the same schedule each week. 

3D Print Assistants perform the following duties:

  • Help maintain 3D printers and learn troubleshooting techniques.
  • Learn basic 3D modeling programs such as Tinkercad, Meshmixer, Dremel 3D, etc.
  • Help troubleshoot ThinkLab related issues/questions posed by students.
  • Create 3D print guides and online content under the direction of the supervisor.
  • Encourage student participation in 3D forums and other social networking platforms.

Minimum Qualifications:

  • Strong customer service attitude, initiative
  • Familiarity with 3D print design and production software
  • Ability to work independently
  • Attention to detail and dependability a must
  • Must have at least 2.0 GPA

Preferred Qualifications:

  • Prior customer support experience
  • Prior 3D printing + troubleshooting experience
  • Understanding of the 3D print and scanning production process
  • Hands-on experience with a variety of finishing techniques and tools

Student Assistant Supervisor: Christie Glancy