Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Government Resources: Home

Federal and state sources for information

Hot Topics

Loading

GovInfo (New Beta site) launched by U.S. Government Publishing Office.  It will officially replace FDsys in 2017.

Did You Know? Some Interesting Facts About Digital Media (U.S. Library of Congress, Digital Preservation)

UMW Catalog Search

UMW Libraries

                          Advanced Search

FDLP Celebration Picture Gallery

75th FDLP Anniversary

Campus Walk

75th FDLP Anniversary

Rosemary Arneson, University Librarian

75th FDLP Anniversary

Rosemary Arneson, University Librarian

75th FDLP Anniversary

Provost Jonathan Levin

75th FDLP Anniversary

Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Barbie Selby, Regional Depository Librarian

75th FDLP Anniversary

Andrew Sherman, GPO Chief of Staff and Congressional Relations Officer

75th FDLP Anniversary

Andrew Sherman, GPO Chief of Staff and Congressional Relations Officer

75th FDLP Anniversary

Rebecca Zoellner with Alan Zoellner, College of William & Mary, Research & Government Information Librarian

75th FDLP Anniversary

Dr. Heather Ryan, Keynote speaker

75th FDLP Anniversary

Dr. Heather Ryan, Keynote speaker

75th FDLP Anniversary

Tami Morse, USGS, Catalog Librarian

75th FDLP Anniversary

Christian Hefner and Simpson Library Staff

75th FDLP Anniversary

LeRoy Strohl, Retired University Librarian, Congressman Rob Wittman, and Salvatore Meringolo

75th FDLP Anniversary

Barbie Selby, Marcia Butler, Technical Services Librarian, and Tami Morse

75th FDLP Anniversary

Alan Zoellner, College of William & Mary, Research & Government Information Librarian

75th FDLP Anniversary

Joe Price and Heather Ryan

75th FDLP Anniversary

Students enjoy the Open House!

75th FDLP Anniversary

Sammy D. Eagle with Caitlin DeMarco and Rebecca Zoellner

75th FDLP Anniversary

Depository Librarians with Sammy D. Eagle

75th FDLP Anniversary

Rebecca and Alan Zoellner at the Open House

75th FDLP Anniversary

Dr. Heather Ryan Title Slide

75th FDLP Anniversary

Dr. Heather Ryan

75th FDLP Anniversary

Dr. Heather Ryan "Think" Slide

75th FDLP Anniversary

Group Photo of all Speakers

75th FDLP Anniversary

Rosemary Arneson, Andrew Sherman, and Provost Jonathan Levin

75th FDLP Anniversary

Cake!

75th FDLP Anniversary

Christian Hefner, High School Senior and Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Carolyn Parsons, LeRoy Strohl and Barbie Selby at the Reception

75th FDLP Anniversary

Christian Hefner, High School Senior, and Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Marcia Butler and Congressman Rob Wittman

75th FDLP Anniversary

Reception

75th FDLP Anniversary

UMW Libraries Staff at the Reception

75th FDLP Anniversary

Andrew Sherman and Rosemary Arneson enjoy the Reception

75th FDLP Anniversary

More Cake!

75th FDLP Anniversary

Reception

75th FDLP Anniversary

Reception

Welcome

Government information is available on almost every topic. The University of Mary Washington is a depository for both federal and Virginia government documents. Besides paper, documents are available in a variety of formats -- online, CD-ROMS, microfiche, videos, maps, and discs. Most documents owned by the UMW Libraries can be located using the UMW Libraries' Catalog. Information about UMW depository selection and maintenance is available in the Government Documents Collection Development Policy Federal Depository #0633.

As a member of the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP), the UMW Libraries are expected to provide free and current access to the FDLP electronic collection and the GPO Access databases. See our Public Access Policy for Government Information. Government resources links provide access to government information by branch of government, agency, and subject. Please ask at the Simpson Library Information Desk if you need assistance or use one of the Search Tools to locate materials.

75th FDLP Anniversary Celebration March 10, 2016

UMW Libraries Celebrated

75 Years with FDLP!

To mark this special occasion we held a full day of events on March 10, 2016.   Enjoy photographs of the celebration, come by and see the exhibits, watch the keynote speech by Dr. Heather Ryan “The Long View of Librarianship and Government Information” while you follow along with the slide presentation.

EXHIBITS will be on display through Constitution Day, September 17, 2016.  Three exhibits found in Simpson Library's 1st floor lobby showcase the diversity, depth and breadth of our Government Document Collection.  "The Many Faces of Government Information" offers a multitude of formats. "75 Years of Government Documents in UMW Libraries" highlights works from each of the eight decades that UMW has been participating in FDLP.  "American Library Association Notable Government Documents 2010-2014" presents government publications that have been identified by the profession as documents of distinction and "works of superlative nature."

The exhibit located on the 2nd floor of Simpson Library outside of Special Collections and Archives covers the history of UMW Libraries relationship with FDLP through documents and photographs.  Digital exhibits are available on the kiosks in the Convergence Gallery.

Government Documents

Federal Depository Library

Summer Durrant
Collection Services Librarian
Government Documents Coordinator

Phyllis Johnson
Government Documents Assistant

FDLP Celebration Keynote Speech

Dr. Heather Ryan Rachael Wingfield DeAngelo Lecturer

Dr. Heather Ryan delivered the keynote “The Long View of Librarianship and Government Information”.  An assistant professor at University of Denver’s LIS program, Dr. Ryan teaches and conducts research on digital preservation, archives, and data management.  A member of The Long Now Foundation longnow.org/ since 2007, she advises on the Manual for Civilization project.  Enjoy the video and slide of her presentation:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=GaAiEt84_9s

prezi.com/ev3prjeynojm/?utm_campaign=share&utm_medium=copy