Special Colections Use Policy
To preserve and maintain our unique and historic resources, we request that all patrons follow the guidelines below when handling and using materials from Special Collections.
- Materials in the Special Collections do not circulate.
- Upon entering Special Collections, please sign the register giving the date, status and area of your research.
- Bags are to be left adjacent to the librarian's office, and all notes must be taken in pencil. Laptops are welcome.
- No food or drink is permitted in Special Collections.
- The stacks are closed. A staff member will retrieve requested materials.
- Please handle materials carefully; many of our collections are quite fragile. Turn pages slowly and carefully and use care when unfolding and re-folding maps and other inserts. Use care with books that are brittle; some bindings cannot be opened completely without damaging the item. Book supports are to be used with materials whenever appropriate.
- Wearing gloves is required only when handling materials from our photographic collections, but please wash and dry hands thoroughly before handling any rare materials.
- Care must be exercised not to exert pressure on records; for example, writing notes on paper placed on top of a record. Make no notations on manuscripts or in books.
- Do not turn down the corners of pages or use metal paper clips to mark your place in a book. Acid-free paper strips are provided for this purpose.
- >Documents are generally filed in chronological order. Please maintain the order as you view collection materials. Notify a staff member if any papers are misfiled.
Thank you for helping us keep our collections safe and in good condition for future users.
Photoduplication & Scanning Policies
Special Collections staff provide all photocopying services. Some materials may be too fragile to be copied. In all cases, the decision to copy any item is at the discretion of the Special Collections Librarian.
Photocopies: Special Collections staff will make photocopies of materials in the collections for researchers for twenty-five cents ($0.25) per page. Patrons are not allowed to photocopy materials themselves, as these materials require special handling.
Researchers may use digital cameras on site by prior arrangement at the discretion of the Special Collections Librarian.
Scanning/Digital Reproduction: Digital scans from materials in Special Collections are created by the staff based on the condition of the requested material.

Loading...
