Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Popular Reading: Young Adult - Fiction

View popular reading books by genre and make suggestions for what you would like to read.

American Street

   PZ7.1.Z63 Ame 2017  

   American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

Denton Little's Still Not Dead

PZ7.R83128 De 2017 

Book 2 of 2 in the Denton Little Series

Denton Little lives in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day on which they will die. The good news: Denton has lived through his deathdate. Yay! The bad news: He’s being chased by the DIA (Death Investigation Agency), he can never see his family again, and he may now die anytime. Huh. Cheating death isn’t quite as awesome as Denton would have thought. . . .

Ronit & Jamil

PZ7.5.L37 Ron 2017  

Ronit, an Israeli girl, lives on one side of the fence. Jamil, a Palestinian boy, lives on the other side. Only miles apart but separated by generations of conflict—much more than just the concrete blockade between them. Their fathers, however, work in a distrusting but mutually beneficial business arrangement, a relationship that brings Ronit and Jamil together. And lightning strikes. The kind of lightning that transcends barrier fences, war, and hatred.

The Weight of Zero

PZ7.1.F67 We 2016  

Seventeen-year old Catherine was diagnosed with bipolar disorder soon after her grandmother passed away two years ago. She's struggled with the diagnosis and treatment since then, swinging from manic episodes to deep depressions, which led to her first suicide attempt. Now, her life appears to be more stable, but Catherine knows it is just a matter of time before the depression, or Zero, takes over. She knows what answers to give to her therapist and her mother so they don't suspect, but Dr. McCallum suggests Catherine take part in group therapy, called Intensive Outpatient Program. She meets with the group every week to talk about issues. Catherine goes but feels like Zero could strike at any moment. She doesn't want to end her life without experiencing anything, however, so she starts a list of things she needs to do before Zero takes over. 

Nowhere Near You

PZ7.1.T463 No 2017  

This follow-up to Morris Award finalist Because You'll Never Meet Me picks up the story of pen pals Ollie and Moritz right where the previous novel left off. Separated by an ocean—and by unusual health conditions that could threaten both of their lives should they ever meet—the teenage boys continue to exchange letters as they encounter new challenges and uncover more secrets about the laboratory where they spent time as children.

My Unscripted Life

PZ7.M82718 My 2016  

Working as a summer intern on the set of a movie being filmed in her small Georgia town, seventeen-year-old Dee meets famous pop star turned actor Milo Ritter, who is offending everyone with his rudeness. 

Allegedly

PZ7.1.J33 All 2017  

Orange Is the New Black meets Walter Dean Myer’s Monster in this gritty, twisty, and haunting debut by Tiffany D. Jackson about a girl convicted of murder seeking the truth while surviving life in a group home. Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t say much in that first interview with detectives, and the media filled in the only blanks that mattered: a white baby had died while under the care of a churchgoing black woman and her nine-year-old daughter. The public convicted Mary and the jury made it official. But did she do it?

Gap Life

PZ7.C839455 Gap 2016  

Cray got into the same college his father attended and is expected to go. And to go pre-med. And to get started right away. His parents are paying the tuition. It should be an easy decision. But it's not. All Cray knows is that what's expected of him doesn't feel right. The pressure to make a decision―from his family, his friends―is huge. Until he meets Rayne, a girl who is taking a gap year, and who helps him find his first real job, at a home of four adults with developmental disabilities. What he learns about himself and others will turn out to be more than any university could teach him―and twice as difficult.

Other titles available for checkout