Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Education Curriculum Resources: Lesson Plans

A collection of curriculum resources available at the Stafford Campus Library

UMW TeacherSpot

Lesson Plan Websites

  • What Works Clearinghouse
    "Our goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions" (What Works Clearinghouse).
  • SMART Exchange
    Lesson plans and resources for the Smart Board.
  • Edutopia.org
    Edutopia is a website sponsored by George Lucas to encourage authentic and engaged learning. The collection includes videos, lessons, and teacher blogs that can serve as a resource to novice teachers.
  • PBS LearningMedia
    "PBS LearningMedia™ is the go-to destination for instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, games, audio clips, photos, lesson plans, and more!" (PBS LearningMedia).
  • K-12 Tech Tools
    This website features a collection of free, kid-safe, online resources categorized by subject, grade level, and standard.
  • Discovery Education Lesson Plans
    Free lesson plans written by teachers for teachers. Like you. Classroom Resources has hundreds of original lesson plans for elementary, middle, and high school students. Borrow them as-is or use them to spark your own lesson plans.
  • Scholastic
    Another resource to find help with lesson plans.
  • Eduweb Digital Learning Games & Interactives
    ABCya! is the leader in free educational kids computer games and activities for elementary students to learn on the web. All children's educational computer games and activities were created or approved by certified teachers. ABCya! educational games are free and are modeled from primary grade lessons and enhanced to provide an interactive way for children to learn. ABCya! games and activities incorporate content areas such as math and reading while introducing basic computer skills.
  • NASA for Educators
    Looking for Classroom Materials?
    NASA's Education Materials Finder will help teachers locate resources that can be used in the classroom. Users may search by keywords, grade level, product type and subject. With hundreds of publications and Web sites indexed, the finder is the best way to locate NASA educational resources.
  • Smithsonian Education Lesson Plans
    Browse lesson plans by subject area or search by grade levels and keywords. Smithsonian lesson plans emphasize inquiry-based learning using primary sources and museum collections. Each plan is print-friendly and provides you with all the materials you need—photographs, reproductions, handouts, activities, suggested strategies, standards information, and additional online resources.
  • Education World
    All kinds of ideas for lessons K-12 all subjects. Take a look!
  • NEA Lesson Plans
    A searchable collection of lesson plans from the National Education Association
  • The Gateway to 21st Century Skills
    Site affiliated with the National Education Association that has many resources available for teachers including but not limited to lesson plans on math, language arts, science, history, physical education, philosophy and much more.
  • Thinkfinity Lesson Plans  
      
    Sponsored by Verizon, Thinkfinity contains tens of thousands of free educational resources including K-12 lesson plans, to podcasts and videos, to printable worksheets. In addition to free resources from leading educational organizations such as the National Council of Teachers of English or the Smithsonian. Thinkfinity also offers free professional development.
  • Inspiration Software Lesson Plans
    This website offers lessons plans that integrate the learning and thinking tools of Inspiration, and aligns with the common core standards.
    Inspiration Software is available on the computers and laptops available at the CML.

Subject Guide

Stafford Campus Library

Contact:
121 University Blvd.
Fredericksburg, VA 22406
540-286-8025
Website / Blog Page