Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Alumni and Guest Users: UMW Libraries

A guide to UMW Libraries' resources for Alumni and Guest Users

Borrowing from UMW Libraries

Guest Patrons are more than welcome to come in to either the Simpson Library on the Fredericksburg campus or the Stafford Campus Library to use our book collections at no cost on site.

UMW Libraries Guest Patron card

Alumni and Guest Patrons wishing to check out materials from the UMW Libraries need to obtain a Guest Patron Card. Guest Patron cards are available to Virginia residents over 18 years of age.

An application for a Guest Patron Card can be obtained from and submitted to either Simpson Library on the Fredericksburg campus or the Stafford Campus Library, along with the fee for the card.

Alumni and Guest Borrowing Fees

  • Standard Guest Borrower Fee: $25

  • Alumni: $15

The Guest Patron Card does not entitle the bearer to check out items on Reserve, Audiovisual materials, or Electronics. It also does not entitle the bearer to UMW Libraries Interlibrary Loan services (Patrons wishing to use Interlibrary Loan should contact their local public library.), entry into Simpson Library for study hall hours or off-campus database access.

To learn more check out our full Guest Borrower policy.

Search WorldCat.org

WorldCat allows you to see which libraries across the country have the book or other materials you need. You can jump directly to WorldCat.org using the link here or search using the box below.

Contact your institution or local public library to borrow items from other libraries via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google Book Search

Google Books is freely available online here, as well as being searchable using the search box found below.

It provides full text access to a number of books (older books and others for which the publishers has given permission) and preview access to many others.

It also provides the option to search the full text of these books.

Free Full-text eBooks Online