Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Government Resources: Hot Topics

Federal and state sources for information

GovInfo (New Beta site)

The U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) launches www.govinfo.gov and ushers in a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers.

There are more than 1.5 million titles available on govinfo, with more added daily. Collections on govinfo include:

  • The Congressional Record, Federal Register, Congressional Calendars, Hearings, Reports, Bills, The U.S. Code,
  • Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Courts Opinions, The Federal Budget

Some key features on govinfo:

  •  Mobile-friendly optimized for screen size, An ABC list of collections, Quick Links to popular publications, Related Documents, Search by Calendar,  and Shareable social media content.

Currently in beta, govinfo will replace GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) in 2017.

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional contains the Congressional Record Bound Edition 1789-1997.

The President John F. Kennedy assassination records collection

The President John F. Kennedy assassination records collection.  (The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration)
Variation of Title LinkJohn F. Kennedy assassination records collection   LinkAlso known as: JFK assassination records   LinkAlso known as: JFK records   LinkAlso known as: Kennedy assassination collection   LinkAlso known as: JFK assassination collection.

General Note   "The President John F. Kennedy Assassination Records Collection Act of 1992 [...] mandated that all assassination-related material be housed in a single collection in the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). The resulting Collection consists of more than 5 million pages of assassination-related records, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings and artifacts (approximately 2,000 cubic feet of records). Most of the records are open for research"--Collection home page. Contents   Contents: Includes records of Presidential Commissions, Congressional committees, executive and judicial branch agencies, donated historical materials, finding aids, and the searchable Collection Reference System, also referred to as the JFK Database.

Partial Contents   Reports (selected):Warren Commission --House Select Committee on Assassinations --Assassination Records Review Board --Autopsy report and supplemental report. Description Source   Description based on: version last reviewed on October 26, 2017; title from collection home page (NARA, viewed October 30, 2017). Subject   LinkKennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Assassination -- Sources.   LinkKennedy, John F. (John Fitzgerald), 1917-1963 -- Archives. Added Entry   LinkUnited States. National Archives and Records Administration, issuing body.   LinkUnited States. Warren Commission. Report of the President’s Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy.   LinkUnited States. Congress. House. Select Committee on Assassinations, author.   LinkUnited States. Assassination Records Review Board, author. Also available at URL https://www.archives.gov/research/jfk    

Hot Topics

This page links to interesting content on the Internet. 

Government Documents

Federal Depository Library

Summer Durrant
Collection Services Librarian
Government Documents Coordinator

Phyllis Johnson
Government Documents Assistant