New American Factfinder : New data released from the 2010 Census and 2000 Census. It is a source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. It provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society.
Bureau of Labor Statistics : Easy entry into the full range of economic data and analysis produced by BLS. Here is where you'll find the statistics and reports on employment and unemployment, price (such as the Consumer Price Index), living conditions, compensation, productivity, and more.
Census (U.S. Census Bureau, Department of Commerce)
Census (University of Virginia) includes historicial census data from 1790.
Census Finder a directory of free Census records. It includes United States, United Kingdom, and Canadian Censuses.
Census Maps (Indiana University- Bloomington) includes digitized 1940, 1950, 1990, and 2000 Census Tracts for all cities.
Data.gov : Provides public access to Federal datasets of U.S. government's open data. You will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. You can gather statistics on these various topics: Agriculture, Education, Climate, Global Development, Public Safety, Energy, Health, Finance, Geospatical, Science and Research, Business, Law, and more.
STAT-USA: No-Fee Access is limited to the designated government depository computer located near the Reference Desk. It provides access to four major databases: National Trade Data Bank (NTDB), Economic Bulletin Board, Global Business Procurement Opportunities (GLOBUS), and Bureau of Economic Analysis Economic Information Access. See also VIVAstats (description below)
State Data Center Program : Official sources of demographic, economic, and social statistics produced by the Census Bureau. The SDCs also provide training and technical assistance in accessing and using Census Bureau data for research, administration, planning and decision making by local governments, the business community, and other interested data users.
State Health Facts Online (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation) : This resource contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
Statistical Resources on the Web (Univ. of Mich.) : Includes annotated listings organized by the headings Agriculture, Business and Industry, Comprehensive Subjects, Consumers, Cost of Living, Demographics, Foreign Governments, Foreign Trade, Government Finances, Health, Housing, and Labor.
Global Change Master Directory (U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration) A comprehensive directory about Earth science and global change data.
Population Reference Bureau : Directory of web-based demographic sites, listed by organization, by region and country, or by topic within countries.
VIVAstats : VIVA (Virtual Library of Virginia) Resources Users Committee Task Force created a VIVA Statistics page to assist VIVA members in locating some of the resources available in STAT-USA directly from government sources.
CIESIN: Center for International Earth Science Information Network (Columbia University)
Finding Data on the Internet
Professional journalist Robert Niles has compiled a handy resource guide. It contains simple reference facts and data. Subject categories cover Basic Stuff, Agriculture, Crime, Economics, Education, Energy, Finding People, Health, Investing, Law and Politics, Military, and Other Resources. Many of the sites listed are government agencies, bureaus, or documents, which lead to population figures, trade data, education material, health information, and congressional legislation. Another Niles's site is Statistics Every Writer Should Know.
Prices and Wages by Decades (University of Missouri Library) directly links to data tables in historic U.S. government documents showing wages for common occupations and retail prices for typical consumer purchases. It includes data from local areas starting from the 1700's to present.
Virginia Statistics (Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service) : Focuses on business, demographic and economic statistics for Virginia.