Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

HIST 471A8: Locating Journal Articles

History of the Book (Spring, 2013)

Using Databases

Databases provide access to published material in:

  • magazines
  • newspapers
  • scholarly journals
  • books
  • and other valuable information sources.

Finding Journals

Looking for a magazine or journal?

Search Journal Finder for any periodical title.

Example:

Biblio is the periodical title in the following article citation:

Sonnichsen, Joanne.  "The Book of Fine Paper: A World Guide to Contemporary Papers for Art, Design and Decoration," Biblio 4.4 (April 1999): 59.

Databases

Academic Search Complete (approximately 1880s to date)

Provides abstracts and full-text articles from more than 10,000 books, scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference works on a wide variety of topics.

Art Full Text (1984 to date; full-text coverage begins in 1997)

Indexes a broad range of some 500 magazines and journals in the arts. See also Art Index Retrospective.

Art Index Retrospective (1929 to 1984)

Predecessor to Art Full Text.

JSTOR (archived publications from the 1800s to the last 1-5 years).

A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. To focus your search, use the Advanced Search and the "narrow by discipline" and "language" limiters.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984

Indexes nearly 1,200 periodicals.

Humanities Full Text  (indexing: 1984 to date; select full text: 1995 to date)

Indexes some 600 journals in the humanities.

Literature Resources from Gale (coverage varies by publication)

Provides information on living and deceased authors and artists from around the world.

MLA International Bibliography (1963 to date)

A comprehensive index to articles and books on language, literature, and the dramatic arts.

News & Views from Trinkle

The newsletter, News & Views from Trinkle, was published by the library staff four times during the academic year from 1972 to 1985. The section entitled, "From the Woodward Collection," specifically discusses materials in Simpson Library's Rare Book Collection. Issues are located in the stacks and the University archives, Call No. LH1.M3 N48.

Subject Guide

Carolyn Parsons's picture
Carolyn Parsons
Contact:
217 Simpson Library
(540) 654-1752
Website / Blog Page