Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Newspaper Articles: Early Newspapers

A Guide to Finding Newspaper Articles

Early Virginia and Maryland Newspapers

Early Virginia and Maryland Newspapers on Microfilm

Fredericksburg Newspapers on Microfilm

Christian Banner (AN 2 .F73 C47). 
Publication information:  December 1848 to May 9, 1861; May 17 to August 1862.  Microfilm holdings:  September 6, 1850; May 17, 20, 27, 1862; June 7, 14, 18, 1862; July 2, 14, 1862; August 13, 1862.  (Issues are not in sequence on microfilm reel.)

Daily Star (AN 2 .F73 D34).  
Publication information:  1893 to 1926.  In 1926 merged with the Free Lance to form the Free Lance-Star.  Microfilm holdings:  June 28, 1893 to December 31, 1900; January 1, 1902 to September 1, 1926.  Index:  An Index to the Fredericksburg (Va.) Daily Star covers 1902 to 1909 and December 1911 to 1919 (REFB AI 21 .F725 H62).

Daily Whig News (AN 2 .F73 S45). 
Publication information:  July 1, 1847.  Continued by the Semi-Weekly News.  Microfilm holdings:  July 1, 1847.  Located on microfilm reel with the Semi-Weekly News and 1848 issues of the Fredericksburg News.

Democratic Recorder (AN 2 .F73 D45). 
Publication information:  September 9, 1842 to 1862.  Resumed publication in 1865 as the Fredericksburg Ledger.  Microfilm holdings:  March 19, 1861.

Fredericksburg Ledger (AN 2 .F73 F73).
Publication information:  Continues the Democratic Recorder, which was suspended in 1862.  1865-1874.  Microfilm holdings:  May 23, 1865 to November 10, 1874. Index:  An Index for the Fredericksburg Ledger, 1865-1874 (REFB AI 21 .F73 H62).

Fredericksburg News (AN 2 .F73 S451).
Publication information:  Continues the Semi-Weekly News.  February 4, 1848 to October 1862.  Resumed publication in 1865 as the New Era.  Microfilm holdings:  February 4, 1848 to June 30, 1848; July 20, 1849 to June 27, 1853; July 3, 1854 to June 29, 1860; September 13, 1861; February 1, 1862.  Issues for 1848 are located on microfilm reel containing the Daily Whig News and the Semi-Weekly News.  Index:  An Index to the Fredericksburg (Va.) News covers 1848 to 1861 (REFB AI 21 .F74 H62).

Free Lance (AN2 .F73 F72).
Publication information:  1885 to 1926.  In 1902 absorbed the Star.  In 1926 merged with the Daily Star to form the Free Lance-Star.  Microfilm holdings:  January 27, 1885 to September 2, 1926.  Indexes:  An Index to the Free Lance, Fredericksburg, Virginia covers 1885 to 1900.  (REFB AI 21 .F76 H62); An Index to the Marriage Notices and Abstracts of the Death Notices [in the] Free Lance of Fredericksburg, Va., 12 May 1900-29 June 1901 (REFB AI 21 .F76 H625). Chronicling America provides full-text coverage of the Free Lance.

Free Lance-Star (AN 2 .F73 F72). 
Publication information:  Continues the Daily Star and the Free-Lance.  September 2, 1926 to date.  Microfilm holdings:  September 2, 1926 to date.

New Era (AN 2 .F73 S451). 
Publication information:  Continues the Fredericksburg News.  May 23, 1865 to July 1866.  Continued by the News.  Microfilm holdings:  May 23, 1865 to May 22, 1866.   Located on microfilm reel with the News.  Index:  An Index to the New Era (1865-1866) and the Fredericksburg News (1874-1882)  (REFB AI 21 .F74 H621).

News (AN 2 .F73 S451). 
Publication information:  Continues the New Era.  July 1866 to 1886.  Microfilm holdings:  February 16, 1874 to June 28, 1875; January 6, 1876; October 6, November 10 & 28, 1881; January 2, 1882; June 1, 1882 to September 18, 1882 (scattered issues only).  Located on microfilm reel with the New Era.  Index:  An Index to the New Era (1865-1866) and the Fredericksburg News (1874-1882)  (REFB AI 21 .F4 H621).

Political Arena (AN 2 .F73 P64). 
Publication information:  July 4, 1827 to 1845 (?). Microfilm holdings:  July 4, 1827 to December 31, 1841.  Issues for July 4, 1827 to September 12, 1828 titled Political Arena & Literary Museum.

Semi-Weekly News (AN 2 .F73 S45). 
Publication information:  Continues the Daily Whig News.  July 8, 1847 to February 1, 1848.  Continued by the Fredericksburg News. Microfilm holdings:  July 8, 1847 to February 1, 1848.  Located on microfilm reel with the Daily Whig News and 1848 issues of the Fredericksburg News.  Index:  An Index to the Fredericksburg (Va.) News (At Times Entitled the Daily Whig News and the Semi-Weekly News) covers July 1847 to June 1848 (REFB AI 21 .F74 H62 v. 1).

Star (AN 2 .F73 F72). 
Publication information:  Continues the Virginia Star.  1884 to 1902.   Absorbed by the Free Lance in 1902.  Microfilm holdings:  March 12, 1884 to December 1899.  Index:  An Index to the Fredericksburg (Va.) Star covers 1884 to 1891 (REFB AI 21 .F721 H62 v. 1-4).

Virginia Herald (AN 2 .F73 V57). 
Publication information:  Continues the Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg and Falmouth Advertiser.  1797 to 1862; 1866 (?) to 1875. Microfilm holdings:  January 11, 1799 to October 24, 1800; February 23, 1802 to December 29, 1810; January 18, 1812 to 1813; July 1, 1815 to 1836; January 7, 1867 to December 23, 1876.  Scattered issues missing.  The following dates are located on a reel with issues of the Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg Advertiser and the Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg and Falmouth Advertiser:  April 27, 1811; January 26, 1814; January 4, 1855 to October 25, 1855 (scattered issues missing); May 10, 1861; March 11, 1862; November 21, 1862.  The following dates are located on a reel with issues of the Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg Advertiser:  February 14, 1798 to November 2, 1798 (scattered issues missing).  Indexes:  An Index to the Virginia Herald covers 1810, 1812 to 1813, 1815-1836, 1855; 1867 to 1876 (REFB AI 21 .V52 H63).  Five Indexes to the Virginia Herald covers 1799 to 1800 and 1802 to 1809 (REFB AI .V52 H62 1788-1809).

Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg Advertiser (AN 2 .F73 V57). 
Publication information:  June 7, 1787 to 1795.  Continued by the Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg and Falmouth Advertiser.  Microfilm holdings:  September 6, 1787; October 11, 1787; November 8, 1787; November 22, 1787; March 27, 1788 to December 29, 1791 (scattered issues missing); supplement April 17, 1788.  Index:  Five Indexes to the Virginia Herald covers 1788 to 1795 (REFB AI 21 .V2 H62 1788-1809).

Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg and Falmouth Advertiser (AN 2 .F73 V57).
Publication information:  Continues the Virginia Herald and Fredericksburg Advertiser.  1795 to 1797.  Continued by the Virginia Herald.  Microfilm holdings:  January 13, 1797.

Virginia Star (AN 2 .F73 S72).  
Publication information:  1869 to 1884.  Continued by the Star.  Microfilm holdings:  January 3, 1877 to March 12, 1884.  Index:  An Index to the Virginia Star covers 1877 to 1884 (REFB AI 21 .F72 H62).

Additional Early Virginia and Maryland Newspapers on Microfilm

(Annapolis) Maryland Gazette  (AN 23 .A4 M3).  Publication information:  January 17, 1745 to December 12, 1839.  Title varies:  Maryland Gazette, Maryland Gazette and Political Intelligencer, Maryland Gazette and State Register.  Microfilm holdings:  January 17, 1745 to December 12, 1839.

Daily Richmond Examiner (F 234 .R5 D3).  Publication information:  April 25, 1859 to May 28, 1864.  Continued by Richmond Examiner.  Microfilm holdings:  February 26, 1861 to May 28, 1864.

Richmond Daily Dispatch / Semi-Weekly Dispatch (AN 2 .R52 S45).  Publication information:  October 19, 1850 to 1883.  Continued by Richmond Dispatch (1884 to 1903).  Microfilm holdings:  January 2, 1860 to April 1, 1865; December 9, 1865 to December 30, 1865.

Richmond Enquirer / Daily Richmond Enquirer (AN 2 .R52 D34).  Publication information:  September 18, 1844 to July 15, 1867.  Merged with the Richmond Examiner to form the Daily Enquirer and Examiner.  Microfilm holdings:  August 24, 1860 to December 25, 1860; July 29 to October 30, 1861; 1862; 1863 (scattered issues).

Richmond Examiner (F 234 .R5 D3).  Publication information:  May 30, 1864 to July 15, 1867.  Merged with the Daily Richmond Enquirer to form the Daily Enquirer and Examiner.  Microfilm holdings:  May 30, 1864 to March 31, 1865.

(Richmond) Sentinel (AN 49 .R5 S4).  Publication information:  March 11, 1863 to March 2, 1866.  Absorbed by the Richmond Enquirer on March 3, 1866.  Microfilm holdings:  March 11, 1863 to April 1, 1865; November 13 and 18, 1865; December 5, 1865.

(Williamsburg) Virginia Gazette (AN 2 .W7 V8).  Publication information:  1736 to 1780.  Microfilm holdings:  September 10, 1736 to December 9, 1780.  Index:  Virginia Gazette Index, 1736-1780 (REFB AI 21 .V5).