Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Newspaper Articles: Indexes & Databases

A Guide to Finding Newspaper Articles

Indexes & Databases

Accessible Archives (coverage varies).
Provides access to the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780), the South Carolina Gazette (1732-1780), the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898), the Liberator (1831-1865), and assorted other publications, including Civil War-era newspapers, 19th-century African American newspapers, and American county histories (to 1900).
Provides digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines, journals, and newspapers.

America's Historical Newspapers
See Early American Newspapers Series 2, 1758-1900

Early American Newspapers Series 2, 1758-1900
Contains more than 290 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from every region of the United States.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960 to date)
Supplies full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Factiva (coverage varies by publication)
Provides access to thousands of full-text works from magazines, newspapers, news wires, and reports from around the world.
Developed by the Historic Preservation Department at the University of Mary Washington. Enables users to search such area resources as 19th-century Fredericksburg directories, historic district codes, 18th- and 19th-century newspaper indexes, and local Mutual Assurance Policies and Censuses of Manufacturing Lists.

Freeman File. (Late 1920s to October 1985; AI 21 .R52 F73).
An index on microfiche to articles in the Richmond Times-Dispatch (AN 2 .R52 T55) and the Richmond News Leader. The Freeman File consists of 150,000 note cards arranged by subject headings. In addition to the main file, there is a special index to articles covering World War II.

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction (1857-1877)
Provides full-text access to 21 years of Harper's Weekly, a leading 19th-century illustrated newspaper.

LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies; mostly 1980s to date)
Contains full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, legal and business sources, reference books, and other works.  To find editorials, click on "Search by Subject or Topic," then "All News," then "Advanced Options," then "Editorials & Opinions," and then "Apply."  (You can also click on other types of works besides just editorials.)

Newspaper Source Plus (coverage varies; mostly 1990s to date)
Includes the full text for some 150 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 400 U.S. newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.

Old Fulton NY Postcards.
Its name notwithstanding, this is an index to hundreds of New York state newspapers as well as papers from other states and Canada. Invaluable for locating information in little-known newspapers published from the nineteenth century to the twenty-first.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (coverage varies)
Provides full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times (1851 to within the last several years) the Washington Post (1877 to 1991), and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1987). Users can search the newspapers separately or together.  (NOTE: This database--and other ProQuest resources--will not work using the Firefox browser.)

See also Newspapers in Microform: United States (REFB PN 4855 .N46x).  Although dated, this reference set is invaluable for locating titles and publishing runs of American newspapers.