Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Newspaper Articles: Collections & Archives

A Guide to Finding Newspaper Articles

Navigation Menu

Many newspapers allow users to search their back issues on the web, usually by keyword, phrase, or name (years of indexing coverage varies from paper to paper). Some newspapers permit researchers to obtain the last two or three weeks' worth of articles at no cost, while others charge for every story, no matter how recent. Although users can usually browse and obtain article citations at no cost, most papers charge for each article that is displayed, printed, or downloaded. Each newspaper has its own search engine, so be sure to read the help screens to learn the correct syntax.

Scroll down or click on the links below to navigate the "Collections and Archives" section of this Newspaper Articles site. 

United States

Non-United States

 

United States

Accesses newspaper pages from 1860-1922.  This site also provides bibliographic information (name changes, publication runs, etc.) for American newspapers published from 1690 to date. The Library of Congress's page also includes a list of periodicals and newspapers "available inside the library."

Digital Historical Newspapers
Collections of digitized newspapers from around the world.  Includes links to North American newspapers.

Elephind.com.
The goal of this site to "search all the world’s online historic newspapers from one place. We aren’t there yet, but we are adding more newspapers every day."
 
Gathers free newspaper archives from across the country.
 
A collection of archives newspapers from around the world, alphabetically organized by title.  "You can either browse through the full collection of newspapers scanned or use Advanced News Search to specify the date range in which you'd like to search the archives." Search resuls, however, are often less than satisfactory.
 
This "genealogy research guide" includes indexes and collections, organized by state.
 
The various collections in this repository include the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (historic Illinois newspapers), the Farm, Field, and Fireside collection (historic agricultural newspapers), American Popular Entertainment ("digital facsimiles of historic newspapers and trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the US between 1853 and 1929," including the famous sporting and theatrical publication, the New York Clipper), and the Collegiate Chronicle (student newspapers).
 
This partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress is a "long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages."  Includes a link to participating states.

NewsLink.
Provides more than 10,000 links to magazines, newspapers, news services, and broadcast resources from around the world.

Old Fulton NY Postcards.
Its name notwithstanding, this is an index to hundreds of New York state newspapers as well as papers from other states and Canada. Invaluable for locating information in little-known newspapers published from the nineteenth century to the twenty-first.
 
Includes a link to United States Online Historical Newspapers.  Note: Many of the titles listed are subscription-based, though links to readily available resources are also included.
 
Links to dozens of U.S. newspaper archives are arranged alphabetically by state.
 
A list of worldwide "free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives." Includes United States and Virginia sections.

See the U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present, which "can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them." 

(See also Newspapers in Microform: United States (REFB PN 4855 .N46x).  Although dated, this reference set is invaluable for locating titles and publishing runs of American newspapers.)

Non-United States

Collections of digitized newspapers from around the world.  

Elephind.com.
The goal of this site to "search all the world’s online historic newspapers from one place. We aren’t there yet, but we are adding more newspapers every day."
 
A collection of archives newspapers from around the world, alphabetically organized by title.  "You can either browse through the full collection of newspapers scanned or use Advanced News Search to specify the date range in which you'd like to search the archives." Search resuls, however, are often less than satisfactory.
 
Provides access to non-U.S. newspaper archives.

NewsLink.
Provides more than 10,000 links to magazines, newspapers, news services, and broadcast resources from around the world.
 
Includes newspapers from Australia, Canada, Ireland, and Mexico.  Note: Many of the titles listed are subscription-based, though links to readily available resources are also included.
 
A list of worldwide "free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives."