Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Literary Criticism: Websites

A guide to finding critical material about literary works

Websites

Websites

A Celebration of Women Writers
Provides a comprehensive listing of links to literary criticism about women authors, as well as biographical and bibliographical information.

Critical Reading: A Guide
A guide for "analyzing literature, particularly poetry and fiction."

An Introduction to Literary Theory
Provides excellent summations of various schools of literary theory.  Stresses that the concepts are not limited to literature but can be "applied to various cultural works, such as art, sculpture, paintings, and poetry."

IPL2: Literary Criticism
This collection, maintained by librarians at the Internet Public Library, contains "critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period." At the bottom of the page are links to the IPL2's Online Literary Criticism Guide and Literary Criticism Pathfinder.

Literary History.com
Full-text articles on some 250 19th- and 20th-century American and British authors.

Literary Resources on the Net
A directory of websites with special emphasis on American and English literature, "excluding most single electronic texts, and is limited to collections of information useful to academics."

Furnishes literary criticism, biographical material, and extensive primary and secondary bibliographies for hundreds of American authors. Appendices provide information on literary themes, movements, and other topics.
Furnishes biographies, criticism, bibliographies, and listings of web resources on the “lives and works of North American women writers of color.”