Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Book Reviews: Full-Text Reviews

A guide to finding book reviews

Full-Text Reviews

Note dates of book review coverage in parentheses.  If your book was published in 1980, for example, you will not find a review in Choice, as its coverage began in 1988.

First use the Quest search tool on the libraries' home page.  Quest allows users to find print and online resources through a single interface. Try a search on the title of the book (in quotation marks) and its author.  Click on "search" and limit your results to "reviews." For items not full text, click on "check for full text."

Academic Search Complete (coverage varies; approximately 1880s to date)
Provides full-text reviews from magazines, journals, and newspapers as well as citations and abstracts (article summaries). Note: For best results, click on "Choose Databases," select "all" and click "ok." .  Also, If a review is not full text, click on “Check for full text” to see if the entire review is available in another database or if the review publication is in Simpson Library’s collection.

American Periodicals Series Online (1741 to 1940)
Provides digitized images of more than 1,000 American magazines and journals.

ChoiceReviews.online (1988 to date)
Full-text scholarly reviews from Choice magazine.

Factiva (coverage varies by publication)
Provides access to thousands of full-text works from magazines, newspapers, news wires, and reports from around the world.

Gale Literary Sources  (Coverage varies; previously known as Literature Resources from Gale)
Provides access to critical and biographical information on living and deceased authors from around the world.

JSTOR (archived publications from the 1800s to the last 1-5 years)
A full-text collection of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  To locate reviews: 1) Click on "Advanced Search." 2) Type the author of the book in the "author" drop-down window and the title of the book, within quotation marks, as a "full-text" phrase in the next window. 3) Limit your search by clicking on "review."

LexisNexis Academic (coverage varies; mostly 1980s to date)
Contains full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, legal and business sources, reference books, and other works.  To find reviews, click on "Search by Content Type," then "All News," then "Advanced Options," then "Book reviews," and then "Apply." 

Newspaper Source Plus (coverage varies; mostly 1990s to date)
Includes the full text for some 150 national and international newspapers and selective full text for more than 400 U.S. newspapers. Also contains television and radio news transcripts.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (coverage varies)
Provides full-text and full-image articles for the New York Times (1851 to within the last several years) the Washington Post (1877 to 1991), and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1987). Users can search the newspapers separately or together.