Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Historic Preservation: Local Resources

A research guide to finding books, articles, and other resources in Historic Preservation

Navigation Menu

When looking for background information related to any of the following topics, either click on these links or scroll down.

Repositories and Other Resources

Court Resources

Mapping Resources

Repositories and Other Resources

Central Rappahannock Heritage Center
The center "archives and preserves historical documents and photographs pertaining to the history and people from the counties of Caroline, Stafford, King George, Spotsylvania and the City of Fredericksburg in Virginia."

Central Rappahannock Regional Library
The downtown public library serves Fredericksburg and the counties of Stafford, Spotsylvania, and Westmoreland.  Numerous local resources and reference works are available in the library's Virginiana Room.

Digital Collections (UMW Library)
Maintained by UMW's Special Collections and University Archives.

Fredericksburg City Directory [and related titles].  REFB F 234 .F8
Simpson Library's holdings begin with 1938 / 1939.

Historic Fredericksburg Foundation, Inc.
A non-profit organization committed "to protect the Fredericksburg area’s rich cultural heritage." Its archives and research materials are open to the public.

Library of Congress
Catalog is useful for locating, among other things, photographs of Fredericksburg buildings.  See also the Library's American Memory collection.

Library of Virginia
Website for Virginia's state library.  See also its Virginia Memory collection and its Chancery Records Index.

Mutual Assurance Society Policies, 1796-1865 (index)
A database that indexes the policies of the Mutual Assurance Society.  The index is also in Simpson Library (REFB F 226 .M871).  The call number of the microfilm policies themselves is F 226 .M87.  The 23 reels are located in the gray microfilm cabinets on the first floor of Simpson Library.

National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) provides access to the records of the federal government.

Newspaper Articles
An extensive LibGuide maintained by UMW Libraries.  See especially the sections for "Virginia Newspapers Online" and "Early Newspapers." See also the newspapers listed in Fredericksburg Research Resources.

Resources (Fredericksburg, Virginia)
Developed by the Historic Preservation Department at the University of Mary Washington. Enables users to search such area resources as 19th-century Fredericksburg directories, historic district codes, 18th- and 19th-century newspaper indexes, and local Mutual Assurance Policies and Censuses of Manufacturing Lists.  Includes a link to online Fredericksburg Research Resources.

Court Resources

Fredericksburg Circuit Court: Overview.  Includes a link at the right to the Fredericksburg Circuit Court, a link at the left to the Circuit Court Archives, and a link to the home page of the City of Fredericksburg.

Spotsylvania Circuit Court. Click on "Online Services" at left for Spotsylvania County, Virginia, Circuit Court records. Note that "authorization from the local circuit court is required to access this information."

Stafford Circuit Court.  Click on "Online Services" at left for Stafford County, Virginia, Circuit Court records. Note that "authorization from the local circuit court is required to access this information."

Mapping Resources

Digital Sanborn Maps - Virginia (late 19th to mid-20th centuries).
Provides access to 678 full-image maps of 132 Virginia cities and towns.

Fredericksburg, Virginia (GIS)
The mapping website of Fredericksburg, Virginia.  (Keep in mind that building dates are often inaccurate.)

GIS
A subject guide maintained by UMW Libraries.

Spotsylvania, Virginia (GIS)
The mapping website of Spotsylvania County, Virginia.

Stafford, Virginia (GIS)
The mapping website of Stafford County, Virginia.