Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Religion: Obtaining Background Material

A research guide to finding books, articles, and other resources in Religion

Using Reference Books

Use Reference books to:

♦  Obtain background material to help familiarize yourself with your topic

♦  Locate definitions of terms and concepts

♦  Find bibliographies suggesting additional resources on your topic

Location:

Reference books are on the first floor of Simpson Library

Don't forget!  If you need assistance, stop at the Information Desk (located to the right as you enter Simpson Library's front door).

Citing Your Sources

While writing research papers, you may need to:

  List your sources in bibliographies or works cited, and

♦  Provide either footnotes or endnotes.

Here is a link to the UMW Libraries' Guide to Citing Resources.

Navigation Menu

When looking for background information related to any of the following topics, either click on these links or scroll down for reference books found on the first floor of Simpson Library:

General Reference Books

Specialized Reference Books

Bible Reference Books

Mythology Reference Books

General Reference Books

The Brill Dictionary of Religion
REFB BL 31 .M4813 2006
 
Companion Encyclopedia of Theology
REFB BR 118 .C66 1995
 
Concise History of World Religions
REFB BL 80.3 .N38 2011
 
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
REFB BL 2525 .Q44 2009
 
Encyclopedia of Religion
REFB BL31 .E46 2005
 
Encyclopedia of World Scriptures
REFB BL 70 .S56 2001
 
Holy People of the World: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia
REFB BL 72 .H65 2004
 
The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions
REFB BL 31 .O9 1997
 
Religion and Everyday Life and Culture
REFB BL 74 .R36
 
Religions of the World
REFB BL 80.3 .R45 2002
 
The Wilson Chronology of the World's Religions
REFB BL 80.2 .L464
 
World Christian Encyclopedia
REFB BR 157 .W67 2001

Specialized Reference Books

African American Religious Cultures
REFB BL 2500 .A37 2009

Contemporary American Religion
REFB BL 2525 .C65 1999

Dictionary of Early Christianity
REFB 66.5 .L4813 2000
 
Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics
REFB BL2525 .D58 2003
 
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
REFB BL 2525 .Q44 2001
 
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
REFB BR 162.2 .E53 1997
 
Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements
REFB BL 98 .E53

Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion
REFB BL 65 .P7 E53 2007
 
Encyclopedia of Religion and Nature
REFB BL 31 .E465 2005
 
Encyclopedia of Religion and War
REFB BL 80.3 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Religion in America
REFB BL 2520 .E52 2010
 
Encyclopedia of Religion in the South
REFB BR 535 .E52 2005
 
Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States
REFB BR 515 .E533 2013
 
Encyclopedia of Religious Revivals in America
REFB BV 3773 .E53 2007
 
The Encyclopedia of Saints
REFB BX 4655.8 .G85 2001
 
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion
REFB BL 240.3 .E53 2003
 
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
REFB BL 458 .E52 2006
 
Jesus in History, Thought, and Culture: An Encyclopedia
REFB BR 145.3 .H68 2003

Religion and American Cultures
REFB BL 2525 .R448 2003

Religion in America
REFB B 2525 .R4642 2011

Bible Reference Books

All Things in the Bible
REFB BS 440 .T57 2006
 
The Anchor Bible Dictionary
REFB BS 440 .A54 1992
 
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible
REFB BS 440 .E44 2000
 
The New Strong's Expanded Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible
REFB BS 425 .S8 2001
 
The Oxford Bible Commentary
REFB BS 491.3 .O94 2001

Mythology Reference Books

The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology & Legend
REFB BL 303 .M45 2004
 
Gods, Goddesses, and Mythology
REFB BL 312 .G64 2005
 
Myths and Legends of the World
REFB BL 311 .M97 2000
 
Oxford Companion to World Mythology
REFB BL 312 .L44 2005
 
Thematic Guide to World Mythology
REFB BL 312 .S76 2004