Skip to main content
UMW Libraries
Simpson | Stafford | Special Collections

Classics: Navigating the Internet

A research guide to finding books, articles, and other resources in the Classics

Evaluating Websites

Criteria for evaluating websites include:

  • Accuracy
  • Authority
  • Coverage
  • Currency
  • Objectivity

Remember to examine websites carefully before using them for research purposes.  If you still aren't sure, ask a librarian or your professor for assistance.

Using Virtual Libraries

Virtual libraries . . .

♦  Provide directories of carefully selected Web resources.

♦  Include annotations (summaries) of the selected websites.

♦  Are usually maintained by librarians or other information specialists.

♦  Furnish the quality control that is lacking in web search engines.

Users can usually browse by subject or search.  For example, see:

Finding Dulcinea: Librarian of the Internet. (If the search feature does not work, try this link.)

See also the Library of Congress's Virtual Reference Shelf, which includes "selected online resources for research," and Alcove Nine: An Annotated List of Reference Websites.

Citing Your Sources

While writing research papers, you may need to:

  List your sources in bibliographies or works cited, and

♦  Provide either footnotes or endnotes.

Here is a link to the UMW Libraries' Guide to Citing Resources.

Navigation Menu

When looking for web resources related to any of the following topics, either click on these links or scroll down:

General Works

Specialized Works

Online Periodicals

Google Tricks

General Works

Includes the texts of ancient authors and links to valuable websites.
 
Covers the life, mythology, literature, archaeology, and art of the ancient world of Greece and Rome.
 
A collection of images, texts, lectures, and other resources.
 
Includes 59 authors in a searchable collection of 441 classical texts. 
 
A directory of resources compiled by librarians at the Internet Public Library.
 
This major resource on ancient Rome includes primary and secondary texts, translations, a photo-gazetteer of Roman towns and monuments, topographical works, classical dictionaries, maps, and links to related sites.
 
Users can browse this searchable collection of "some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization" by title, author, genre, and language.
 
An evolving digital library of resources for the study of the ancient world. 
 
Online bibliographies cover language, literature, history, religion, mythology, art, and archaeology.
 
TOCS-IN, as this site is called, provides the tables of contents of selected journals in Classics, Religion, and Near Eastern Studies. The project began in 1992, and it now contains approximately  200 journals and more than 75,000 articles. Pre-1992 journals are also being added. Use the search engine at Searching TOCS-IN to access this invaluable research.

Specialized Works

Provides a graphical overview and background information on the Barrington Atlas, a reference work that "recreates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa." The atlas is in the atlas case of Simpson Library at the end of the Reference Collection (call number CASE G 1033 .B3 2000). The two-volume supplement, a map-by-map directory, is on the shelves of the Reference Collection (REFB G 1033 .B3 2000 Suppl.).
 
Focuses on women and gender issues among Roman, Greek, Egyptian, and other cultures around the ancient Mediterranean.

Online Periodicals

Online since 1990, the scholarly journal Bryn Mawr Classical Review publishes "timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology)."

Google Tricks

  • Use quotation marks for exact words or phrases.
    • For example, “global warming” (to search global warming as a phrase rather than two separate words).
  • Use an asterisk as a wildcard or a placeholder. 
    • For example, universit* (for university or universities); “a * saved is a * earned”
  • Use OR to search for one word or the other.  Useful for synonyms. 
    • For example, attorneys OR lawyers
  • Use site: to search within a site or domain (no space after colon).
    • For example, “global warming” site:nytimes.com; climatology site:.gov
  • Use a dash to exclude a word or phrase from a search. 
    •  For example, cougar speed –car; “global warming” –site:wikipedia.org
  • Use allintitle: to show results with word(s) in the title (no space after colon).
    • For example, allintitle:“global warming”
      • You can also use allinurl to find websites with words in the URL.
  • Use related: to search for sites similar to ones you know (no space after colon).
    • For example, related:nbc.com
  • Use link: to find sites linked to a particular web page (no space after colon).
    • For example, link:freelancestar.com; link:pbs.org
  •  Use filetype: to restrict results to certain file type (no space after colon).
    • For example, climatology filetype:pdf
  • Use two periods without spaces to search for a number range, such as dates, prices, and measurements.
    • For example, “test scores” 2013..2014; microwaves $100..$300